Springboks veteran ruled out of Rugby World Cup final

Talk about being unlucky. This Springboks veteran has been ruled out of the final with a knee injury sustained just before the Rugby World Cup 2023 final


Talk about misfortune. Due to a knee injury he suffered just before the Rugby World Cup 2023 final, this veteran Springbok is out of the running for the championship.

Trevor Nyakane has taken Vincent Koch’s spot on the Springboks bench due to a knee ailment.

Sadly, this means that the seasoned 49-cap Bok will miss what would have been his 50th game.


The bad news is that he will sit out and have to cheer on the Boks from the bench.

Fortunately, he and others like Malcolm Marx and Makazole Mapimpi will be there to witness the medals that the Springboks win.

Both of the later legendary pair have returned to offer the Boks moral assistance. The good news is that Rassie Erasmus and Jacques Nienaber did not report any further injuries. Nyakane is the only injury-enforced modification as a result.

“Vincent Koch, who is recovering from a knee injury, is replaced at prop by Trevor Nyakane, the only other substitution that is required. He joins Deon Fourie and Ox Nche as front-row cover, Kwagga Smith and Wiese as backup loose forwards, and the Munster tandem of RG Snyman and Kleyn as backup locks, according to a statement posted on SA Rugby.

While Jean Kleyn and Jasper Wiese make room for Manie Libbok and Cobus Reinach to accommodate the 7-1 split, also known as the “Nuke Squad.” That is to say, they were open for selection. These are hence tactical adjustments.

Nyakane is an excellent substitute because of his strength in the scrums. Moreover, his narrative has come full circle.

During the Springboks’ opening Rugby World Cup encounter against New Zealand, he sustained an injury. Now, after putting in a lot of effort to regain his form and overcome injuries, he will play in the championship match against the same opponents.


15 – Damian Willemse (DHL Stormers) – 38 caps, 56 pts (4t, 9c, 4p, 2d)
14 – Kurt-Lee Arendse (Vodacom Bulls) – 14 caps, 65 points (13t)
13 – Jesse Kriel (Canon Eagles) – 67 caps, 75 points (15t)
12 – Damian de Allende (Wild Knights) – 77 caps, 55 points (11t)
11 – Cheslin Kolbe (Suntory Sungoliath) – 30 caps, 91 points (14t, 3c, 5p)
10 – Handré Pollard (Leicester Tigers) – 68 caps, 686 points (7t, 96c, 148p, 5dg)
9 – Faf de Klerk (Canon Eagles) – 54 caps, 50 points (5t, 5c, 5pg)
8 – Duane Vermeulen (SA Rugby) – 75 caps, 15 pts (3t)
7 – Pieter-Steph du Toit (Toyota Verblitz) 75 caps, 40 points (8t)
6 – Siya Kolisi (captain – Racing 92) – 82 caps, 50 points (10t)
5 – Franco Mostert (Honda Heat, Japan) – 72 caps, 15 points (3t)
4 – Eben Etzebeth (Hollywoodbets Sharks) – 118 caps, 30 points (6t)
3 – Frans Malherbe (DHL Stormers) – 68 caps, 5 points (1t)
2 – Bongi Mbonambi (Hollywoodbets Sharks) – 67 caps, 65 points (13t)
1 – Steven Kitshoff (Ulster) – 82 caps, 10 points (2t)
16 – Deon Fourie (DHL Stormers) – 12 caps, 10 pts (2t)
17 – Ox Nche (Hollywoodbets Sharks) – 27 caps, 0 pts
18 – Trevor Nyakane (Racing 92) – 66 caps, 5 pts (1t)
19 – Jean Kleyn (Munster) – 6 caps, 0 pts (Ireland 5 caps)
20 – RG Snyman (Munster) – 33 caps, 10 points (2t)
21 – Kwagga Smith (Shizuoka Blue Revs) – 39 caps, 35 pts (7t)
22 – Jasper Wiese (Leicester Tigers) – 26 caps, 5 pts (1t)
23 – Willie le Roux (Vodacom Bulls) – 92 caps, 75 pts (15t)

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button